Blossom Trail Race

I got up bright & early for the Blossom Trail 10k race.  This is my second time running it.  You may read about last years here. ( I don’t know why I didn’t include my time from last years, but it was 55:48.)

We had the most perfect running weather today.  Sunny & low 50’s at the start.

The course was the same as last year.  It took us through residential areas and country roads along a ton of orchards.  Everything is in bloom right now and it’s such a beautiful course to run.  Actually one of my favorites!

Woke up at 6:22, had my usual breakfast.  Toast with butter & jelly, a banana, water & a huge cup of coffee.

I got there with 15 minutes to spare (because I’m cool & picked up my race packet last weekend!) and parked about a block away from the start line.  I walked about .25 of a mile to the port a potties to wait in a long line & realized there was no way I had enough time.

Suck it up buttercup!  The race was more important to off to the start line I went.

IMG_20110305_090937

Not bad for running with a full bladder, I might add.

1 7:59

2 8:07

3 8:08

4 8:06

5 8:07

6 8:07

.16 1:08

Garmin Time: 49:45

Official Time: 49:51

APPM:8:05

I am so happy with my time!  I cut off close to 6 minutes off my time from last year.  Woot, woot!

***Edited to add official results.  I placed 3 out of 40 in my age group, 18 out of 206 women & 88 out of 399 overall.***

Here’s the link to the results page.

Yay for more race bling!!!

Still can’t believe my APPM.  I would have been happy to run 8:15’s.

IMG_20110305_091308

Patiently waiting for the results to see if that earned me more race bling.  I’m still waiting.

Okay this is the part where I tell you what I really think.

  • There weren’t enough port a potties in my opinion.  I think they had 4 or 5 for the women & the same for men.  There were at least several hundred people there.
  • The 10k walkers started before the run & I had to weave in & out.  I think they should start the run first or have the walkers stay to the right.
  • They didn’t have water available right after the race.  Just a teenage boy with headphones in his ears handing out bags of raisins.  When I asked him where the water was located, he said “I don’t know.”  Major fail.
  • The results took forever and when they were posted, they had the 2 mile runners mixed in the 10k.  Also the results with the times between 47:00 & 52:00 were left out.  Exactly where I am.  (From what I can tell is that I placed somewhere between 2 & 4th.)

Would I run this race again?

Yes, but only because I love running, racing & the course is beautiful.

Now it’s time to dig into this huge bucket of ice cream Mike bought for my grandma & I.

IMG_20110305_144447

Funny story, last year my grandma told me “when you get old like me, nothing sounds good to eat any more.  So when I can’t decide what to eat, I just have a bowl of ice cream.”  It’s true!  I can’t make this stuff up!

Js Signature

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Blossom Trail Race

  1. Rachel

    Hey, I was there, too. I agree with all of your comments. I am online checking to see if there are any official results and came across your blog. Congrats on your great time!

    • Thank you Rachel!
      I edited this post to add a link to the results. 🙂

      • Rachel

        Jacqueline: thanks for linking the official results!
        I cannot navigate that site! I go to prorace, click on 2011 results, and cannot find the race results!!!!! Can you tell me what the heck I’m doing wrong? Also, I wanted to see the runner of the year points updates and can’t see that either. Thanks in advance!

        • I know that site is very confusing.
          On the home page results, click on 2011 ->Blossom Trail run->10k run.
          For VROTY click on 2011 & scroll down.
          Good luck!

      • Rachel

        Hi again.

        On Home Page Results, I click on 2011 Results, and I don’t see any clickable spot for Blossom Trail Run. So frustrating!!!!!!

  2. Excellent!! Way to smash that personal record!

  3. Pingback: It’s okay to laugh with me « Skinny Chick Blog

Speak yo mind

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.