Just ask the locals

Mike came home last week really excited about the new sandwich shop his boss took him to, Ike’s Love & Sandwiches.  He even said something crazy: they rival our beloved Stacked in Grover Beach. I know.

So I had to check it out.

The best way to learn about gems like this is to ask the locals.  Or go to the restaurant with the longest line.  Okay I’m done telling you all of my secrets.

IMG_4063

Gotta love a menu with cool names.

IMG_4064

IMG_4068

I had the vegetarian Sesame Street that I totally screwed up by adding bacon.  Best decision ever!  And Mike had the Nacho Boy which was really good too!

IMG_4072

They even give us free caramel apple suckers for dessert.  I think I’m in love with this joint!

IMG_4074

Then we went for a drive on highway 1, but this time we headed south to Moss Landing.

IMG_4081

IMG_4098

And looped back around to Seaside.  I adore this little church.

IMG_4094

And the incredible, breathtaking views!

IMG_4090

When we came home Bam wanted to show Mike where the last gopher sighting was.  It was quite interesting…for Bam at least.

IMG_4107

skinnychickblog on Instagram

Tell me about the last scenic drive you went on!

What are you feeling thankful for today?

What is your favorite restaurant in the history of ever?

logov4

Categories: Uncategorized | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Just ask the locals

  1. lovingontherun

    Yummm that sandwich place looks amazing! the local places are always the best!

  2. It’s like we were almost at the same place at the same time… we drove HWY 1 this week too… but unfortunately no skinnychick or bam sightings :(

  3. The last scenic drive I was on was last summer. We went from southern Oregon, over to California through the Redwood National Park back up along the Oregon coast.

    Today I am thankful for school starting this week. So ready for a regular schedule with my daughters!

    Best restaurant ever is Morning Glory in Ashland, OR. Man, what I wouldn’t give to eat there right now!!

  4. Love the breath-taking views along CA-395! Doesn’t matter the direction–it’s all unbeatable!

  5. Tina

    Oh that little church! Is that at the university? If so– uhh— I got a very expensive parking ticket there!! I went to school there!,

  6. Haha I’m surprised you’ve never been to Ike’s before! It’s a NorCal staple :)

  7. Tell me about the last scenic drive you went on! – Down the A1A to Key West – that is such a pretty drive

    What are you feeling thankful for today? I am thankful for my family

    What is your favorite restaurant in the history of ever? It use to be Black Trumpet…but they took my dish off the menu…so now I would have to say Bonefish

  8. My scenic drive was ruined! I went to take a cool little sand trail that was cut right out of the forest with just enough room for the Jeep…all nice and “off-ready”. Sadly the brush has all been cut back, and the road widened/flattened. So sad.
    I love me a little restaurant called Fellini’s…calzones to die for!

  9. I haven’t been to Ike’s before, and I am a native Nor Cal girl. -sigh- I need to find one close by to check out :)

  10. Catching up on my blog reading….Stiffler’s Mom?? I love those sandwich names!

Speak yo mind

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,003 other followers

