Change is inevitable, progress is a choice

Good Tuesday morning friends!  How’s your week so far?

I’ve talked about my dislike for change, even when I know it’s a good thing, but I’m actually getting better with it. 

3X40

We have moved 3 times within the last year and a half which is so, so crazy for me.  Growing up I only remember moving twice.  Man, I live under a rock.

Then Mike & I lived in the same house for 8 years.

Although it’s rough, I always seem to grow a little more each time.  I am stuck in my ways, poor Mike ha!  But I’m always happy to break out of my little bubble of consistency & content.  Let’s be real, breaking out of your comfort zone is how we grow as a person.

Now that I’m out of my comfort zone, it’s time to get into the groove of life again.

Yesterday was a perfect start!  I went for a 3 mile run on a new {to me} trail. 

IMG_4188

Y’all know my love for exploring and this was no exception.

IMG_4192

The Spartan race was in town over the weekend so it was fun watching the clean up crew.  I bet that was a fun race.  Has anyone every done a Spartan race?

IMG_4189

IMG_4182

IMG_4193

It was a lot warmer than I anticipated but I am not complaining at all – I LOVE the warm weather & sun!

As soon as I got home, I did a round of strength training exercises and a plank.  If I don’t do it right away, coffee & other things sound much more appealing.

IMG_4194

IMG_4195

I came home to Mike smoking the best grilled chicken ever.  He saw the recipe on the Grill Next Door a couple weeks ago and he finally got a chance to make it.  If you dig salty-sweet, this recipe is for you!

20130812_115920

I sautéed zucchini and had a slice of sourdough.  It was a perfect post workout meal.

IMG_4197

Followed up with some fresh afternoon juice. 

IMG_4200

IMG_4201

It’s my favorite combo, but for some reason it was on the bitter side.  Maybe it was the spinach?  I don’t know.

On another note, last call to enter the Heart And Sole 26.2 giveaway.

How many times have you moved? 

What is your “normal” day look like?

Tell me 5 things you want to accomplish this month.

Run & ride consistently, take my probiotics every day, get in more fresh produce, take Bam to a dog beach, run the beach trail.

logov4

Categories: Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Change is inevitable, progress is a choice

  1. I’m interested in doing a mud run or Spartan race. I heard nothing but fun times with it. I know Big Sur has their Mud Run sometime in March :)

    I have lived in the same house my entire life with the exception of moving away to college and back (1) moving into apt with husband (2) and moving into our first home (3). I have learned that I have a lot of stuff.

    Your dinner looks yummy. For your juice, are those nectarines or apples? I can’t tell.

    Normal day: work 8-4, paint, workout, glue butt to couch.

    • The Warrior Dash is in Casa De Fruita this October. I’ve done it the last 2 years, it’s so a lot of fun. Let me know, I’ll do it with you! Those are apples and now that you pointed it out, they do look like nectarines. How funny!

  2. I have moved more times than I can count……Midwest to West Coast to HI back to West Coast back to Midwest now to TX…….or something like that!!!! Normal Day??? What is that? I will tell you it goes coffee, run, coffee then Lord only knows what!!! 5 Things I want to accomplish this month? 1)Not be sad my son is going back to school in 2 weeks 2) Incorporate Speed work back into my training plan 3) Go on a date with my husband 4) Blog more 5) work less

  3. I have moved A LOT. Mostly in the same town in college but then we moved to Erie for my husband to attend medical school and that was hard for me to deal with the change. We will move again in a year, but I will be thankful to get out of here!

  4. Twice – one when I got married and Mike and i moved into an apartment…and then 10months later when we moved into our home…which is where we have now been for the last 12 years

  5. Glad you found a nice route to run, and that chicken looks yummy!

    I’ve moved a lot especially over last few years. Hoping we stay in this house for a while, at least until after the wedding next year. Maybe move once we decide on kids- not sure if I want to raise kids in the city?

  6. I moved every year of college, 6 time total, and I hated it. I was just moving within the town mostly, but it was still a pain in the butt. This was the first year I didn’t have to move in May and it was wonderful!! I wouldn’t be apposed to moving at some point in my life. Right now though, I’m happy with our house and location.

  7. Hello, I’m emailing from Yorkshire in the UK. Found your blog in a very roundabout way but am glad I did – I check for your posts every day after work and always feel brighter after I do. Well done!

  8. Growing up I moved a lot!!! I went to 9 different schools from kindergarten – my senior year. Since getting married we have only moved 6 times (in 17 years) but most were all at the beginning – we have been in our current home for 9 years!!! (my record!)

  9. I love that quote. I think I’m going to put it up in my classroom. But not your image here because putting a picture of a hot chick on the wall of my high school classroom would probably cause some distraction among my male students. :) Also, If it makes you feel better, the first time I ever moved was when I went to college. Since then I’ve moved 10 times. I guess I was making up for lost time!

  10. JB

    I wonder if you could do a post about cycling at some point, please? I am a runner, but I am starting to love cycling and would enjoy hearing about your bike, shoes, essential cycling gear, and training for duathalons/triathlons.

    Change is challenging, but you have a great attitude about it.

    Also, when you grill zucchini, is it still soft? I want to get it crispy, but can’t seem to find a way to do it.

    Thanks. :)

    • You got it!! I’m no pro at all, but I can tell you about the gear I use & a few pointers.
      When we grill zucchini it does get soft, I’m not sure how to make it crispy. Maybe not grill it so long?

  11. grm059

    I’ve moved 8 times in my 31 years.

    5 goals:
    1. Get my liver hemangioma taken care of so I can run/do any form of exercise again!
    2. Get more work done for my job every day.
    3. Eat healthy (esp. since I can’t work out!).
    4. Be incredibly kind to the people around me, even when I feel crappy.
    5. Live in the moment.

Speak yo mind

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

