One of my favorite beach towns

Well hello there.  How’s your Sunday morning going so far?

I’m getting ready to head home to Fresno to visit my family.  It’s my niece, Alexa’s 2nd Birthday and I’m excited to see them!  The last time I think I was home was for Easter.

Anyway, since the Concours d’Elegance is in Pebble Beach, we didn’t want to deal with the traffic & tourist madness so we headed up north to one of my favorite little beach towns, Capitola.  

IMG_4368

I kept telling Mike this place is my jam.  It’s right up there with San Luis Obispo a.k.a SLO.  And that’s a big thing coming from me since I’m pretty much head over hills in love with SLO.

IMG_4394

It was cloudy but warm, probably in the upper 60’s with no wind which means it was quite the popular place to be.

IMG_4375

We had lunch at a little Mexican place downtown then we walked around until the mister need to re-beer.  Did I jus make up a new word? 

We stopped at another restaurant with this killer view from the patio.  And once again I was begging Mike to move here.  He said something about Bam & I would die surely from skin cancer.  Whatev.

PS This is also the start line for the Mermaid Du. 

IMG_4378

I even had our dream home picked out and everything.  How could he not want to live right on this inlet?  Crazy boy.

IMG_4391

We walked around downtown and popped into a cute little shop.  Oddly enough these rubber ducks drew us in.

IMG_4404

Then I saw these bubbling bath salts and had to try them.  I went with a coconut-banana that smells like a cream pie.  So in other words incredible.  Basically my bathroom smells like a very clean hippie lives in it.

IMG_4400

Capitola has the cutest little shops & boutiques.  I saw this dress as we were driving by and had to check it out up close.  I adore everything about this dress.  It was 100% hand stitched with my favorite colors.  Too bad the price tag was a little out of my price range.

IMG_4395

But the salt water taffy shop was definitely more affordable.  So we stoppin in. 

My favorites flavors are cupcake, red velvet, cinnamon and caramel apple pie.

IMG_4412

What would your dream home look like?  Where would it be?

I would have a kick butt workout room with an awesome surround sound set at the perfect temp, a private chef on a warm, sunny beach with access to the most beautiful dog friendly trails.

Salt water taffy fans, what are your favorite flavors?

logov4

Categories: Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “One of my favorite beach towns

  1. In my dream house I would have a great workout room and it would look a lot more put together than my house does now! :-) haha

    I am not a salt water taffy fan….but give me a bag of gummy bears and I will go to town!

  2. I have used re-beer many a time, but I’ll let you have Cali rights on the word!

  3. My dream home would have floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom that could slide open to a private deck overlooking the ocean. My own private exercise room would be pretty kick a$$ as well! Love this little town you visited!!!

  4. Meg G.

    Capitola is fun! I love running the village!

  5. I was amazed at the salt water taffy flavors in California. I’d have to say my favorite flavors were the red velvet, maple and I feel like there was a pie-flavored one that I loved.

    Bring me back to California!!

  6. Tale of Two Sneakers

    My dream home would be a tiny bungalow on the beach or in the country. I don’t have a lot of “stuff” so a small house would be great. It would have to have a spot for my workout equipment and a nice kitchen for my hubby to cook me yummy foods!

    We just got back from Maine and there is a great old fashioned salt water taffy shop that makes the taffy in the window. We always get peanut butter taffy, which they call kisses. I can eat a ton of them! Yum!!

  7. Fo sho it would be on the beach…with all glass un-abstructed views…and I’m with you on the killer workout room…maybe we could just go splitsies on it?!?!?

  8. Love Capitola! Some friends used to rent a house just up the hill from it. We’d walk on down and enjoy the nightlife.

    Dream home would be in Aptos/Capitola area. View of the ocean with them big windows, pool/hot tub, workout room, art studio space and a sizeable area for a garden and grass to play on. oh, and near some runnable trails :)

    hahaha. re-beer. my husband would love that.

Speak yo mind

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,003 other followers

