My sister is Martha freaking Stewart

Welcome to a brand new week!  Are you ready for it? 

I hope you guys had a great weekend.  I sure did!

Yesterday Mike worked so Bam & I drove to Fresno for the day to celebrate this little cuties 2nd Birthday.

1098274_10201559314695552_815584419_n

I loved watching Alexa enjoy her big day.  Though I hardly got to see her because she was playing with her friends in the backyard, while I stayed inside because it was 103 and this girl is no longer used to the heat.

IMG_4472

After lunch, it was time for cake.  Poor baby had a hard time blowing out the candles, so big sister Blair was happy to help.  I can’t even handle the cuteness here.

IMG_4494

I had a great time catching up with my family and see folks I haven’t seen in so long.  When we lived closer to home, every Sunday afternoon we hung out at ma & pa’s house.  We barbequed and played pool volleyball in the summer and drank hot coffee & cocoa and played games in the winter.  It wasn’t even planned, everyone just knew where the cool people were at.  Winking smile

I also caught up with my sisters friend Becky (on right).  They’ve been best friends since 6th grade, I think. She is the sweetest thing ever!

PS thank you Becky for the pics.

IMG_4519

I’ve mentioned several times on here that my sister is Martha freaking Stewart and stole all of the crafty genes, well these pictures should prove that I am not making things up.

IMG_4515

This is Amanda’s element…I swear she’s one of those Pinterest people that think of every single detail and can naturally pull it all together.

IMG_4459

IMG_4457

IMG_4468

IMG_4453

IMG_4469

And the cake!  Can you believe it’s from Walmart?  Yeah, me either.

IMG_4466

IMG_4438

IMG_4474

I hope she knows it is in the sister contract that she has to decorate my house. 

No trip home is complete without visiting my little grandma.  It was so nice to see her and catch up.  We are already talking about Thanksgiving-it’s a big thing for her.  Every year grandma makes a huge family lunch and she looks forward to it. 

IMG_4507

Mike & I picked out salt water taffy for her & my uncle Charlie.  I dumped the bag out on the kitchen table and they loved trying to figure out all of the flavors.  It’s all about the simple things folks.  <3

IMG_4504

Every time I go back home and visit her, I come home feeling so incredibly happy and thankful. 

Are you like your siblings or complete opposites?

Um complete opposites, but I dig her style. 

Does your family have a tradition?  What is it?

What are 4 things you are thankful for today?

The sun coming out early here, I get to run, drinking coffee with Mike, time with the fam yesterday.

logov4

Categories: Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “My sister is Martha freaking Stewart

  1. Tale of Two Sneakers

    My sister and I are NOTHING alike. She is tall, I’m not! She has green eyes mine are brown, she has pin straight hair and mine is curly. You wouldn’t even know we are sisters. She is also the crafty one and I am not crafty at all. She decorated for my brothers wedding BBQ and it was amazing. Me on the other hand wasn’t even invited to help decorate because I’m a hot mess!

    I am thankful for being able to get up and run this morning, waking up next to my amazing husband, having an adorable dog to snuggle with, and having an amazing family despite our differences.

  2. My sister and I are polar opposites.
    I am thankful for my health, my awesome hubby, my kiddo’s, and the sunshine we finally got to enjoy for 2 days this past weekend!

  3. Your sister is really crafty, but I wouldn’t sell yourself short- you’ve got a lot of creative juices flowing keeping the blog going and such!

    My sister and I are polar opposites on some things and similar on others. I think I am more laid back of the 2 of us. She is book smart where I think I got the common sense thing (I don’t mean that in a bad way, she’s ridiculously smart…I got good grades but I really had to work for the, where it came much easier for her).

  4. Wow what a great party! looks amazing! My brother and I are quite opposite but honestly I think that is why we get along so well!

  5. Your sister is damn talented with the crafts. Beautiful set up though :)

    My sisters and I are definitely different Oldest is very very smart and practically a natural at anything she tries. Little sister is adventurous and unafraid of things. And they both are athletic as heck. Me? uhh…. I have worked hard for the art and athleticism. ha.

    Thankful for being able to see my friends this past weekend, awesome workout week, being able to see my family almost everyday and my husband who kisses me goodnight.

  6. Candice

    That cake is not really from Walmart right???

  7. JB

    Awwww! Your family is so sweet! I love the amazing decorating your sister did. Also, you are both stunning! Also (another also), your grandma and uncle are so friggin’ cute with the salt water taffy. :)

  8. I love the ornament tradition! That is such a cute idea, and the home is a great one for this year.

Speak yo mind

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

