Susan G Komen Race Recap

Wow, what a fabulous race and of course cause!  SGK really knows how to put on a race!  I am very impressed with the organization, support, booths, goodies…everything.  They also post the race results right after the race.  Way to go SGK!!!

DSC00951

It was such an honor running the 5K for my second time.  As I mentioned here, last year this was my first race ever.  You can check out last years recap here if you’d like. 

I woke up bright & early and felt great about this race today!  I was so excited I danced with my dogs and they offered their support.  Haha!

I pre-registered so I got there a little early to pick up my packet.  I could feel the positive energy overflowing as I waited for my sister & niece to cheer me on.  It was so contagious!  It felt great being surrounded by so many positive people working to find a cure!

I lined up with just a few minutes to spare and just like that, we were off at 8:00am sharp.

DSC00942  

Last night I was thinking about how I wanted to handle this race.  Just have fun, set a new P.R, etc…  I decided, why not set a new P.R?  But make it reasonable since I doing my first half marathon in 2 weeks.

My current P.R was 26:00, I figured I’d stay around an 8:15-8:20 minute pace per mile and still be able to meet my goal.

I was off to a bit of a slow start because of the crowd, but was able to pick up my pace about .25 mile out.  I looked down at my Garmin and I was in the 7:40ish range and I thought oh man, that’s way too fast, I need to slow down before I burn out.  But I just couldn’t do it.  So instead of arguing with myself (please tell me I’m not alone on this one lol) I just went with the flow.  I’ve put in a lot of time & effort training and I’m going to do my best today and trust my training to carry me through.  What a great decision!  I never knew I had it in me. 

*On a side note, I really prefer endurance over speed, that’s what I train for. 

DSC00945

Here’s my stats according to my Garmin:

Mile 1 8:09

Mile 2 8:05

Mile 3 8:00

.08    .33

Time: 24:49

Official time: 24:53

DSC00948

Yay for negative splits!!!

I came in 8 out of 49 in my age group and 198 overall.  (I’m not sure how many people there were total, but I’ll update it here when I get that figure.)

This is why I train.  Why I run.  Why I race.  I am always challenged and can do better than before.

My time for this race last year was 28:21.  I wonder what next years will be.

DSC00949

Did you run today?  This weekend?  How did you do?

I’ll leave you with my quote of the day, never settle!

Js Signature

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Speak yo mind

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

