I Am Not Riding On The Looser Bus

That was my motto for my first half marathon.  They had a bus waiting for “those runners that can not finish the race” or in my mind, “The Looser Bus”.

On Sunday I ran the Two Cities Half Marathon in Fresno, CA.  And got my finishers hoodie!  Yep, it was all about the hoodie! (not for those on the looser bus)

It was by far the biggest race I’ve ever done so I didn’t know what to expect. 

I started out eating my usual, 2 slices of toast with butter and jelly with a banana for breakfast.  It was so early and I did not feel like eating so I kinda had to choke it  down but I knew my body would thank me later.  In an effort to get as many calories in my belly as possible, I had 1/2 a banana & some water right before the start.  I don’t think that was very wise because I had side cramps for the entire race.  And I usually never struggle with that.  Lesson learned.

DSC01172

The half was supposed to start at 7:30, but I guess due to an error with the chip timing company, the announcer started it around 7:20.  There was a lot of confusion but I didn’t mind too much since my time didn’t start until I crossed the start line.

The crowd made up for the botched start.  They were amazing!  I absolutely love the energy from them & other runners.  I could feel it the entire race! There were thousands of people cheering us on with signs like “Sweat is Sexy!” & “Your Feet Hurt Because Your Kicking A$$” That inspired me to finish (and the Hoodie, lol)!

The first 3 miles were crazy.  I was feeling claustrophobic so I weaved in & out of runners to stay on the edge of the street but had to pass a lot since that’s where the slower runners were.  Probably why my Garmin said 13.23 miles.

I bought an iFitness belt at the expo the day before and decided to take my phone with me during the race.  It was really nice having it.  I took a ton of pictures & kept sending them to my husband so he knew where I was.  I took this one around mile 2.

2 (8)

But after that the crowd started thinning out and I was able to find my pace.

I saw my husband, Mike and step-daughter, Alisa at mile 3.

DSC01186    

Miles 4 – 9 flew by.  I felt great, got into my groove and rocked out to my iPod most of the time.  I chewed on a Lifesaver gummy at mile 4 but my belly didn’t seem to like it.  I did alternate water & Gatorade at every station and that worked out pretty well for me. 

2 (5)

Mile 9 was almost all uphill, and all of the sudden I hit a wall.  I felt like I was going to yack.  And I saw a dead snake.    I actually had to walk for a good half mile, which I never do.   But I kept telling myself  stuff like, I am not riding the looser bus, and I am going to get my hoodie.

**On a side note,I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on here, but I am terrified of snakes.  Real, fake, on T.V. , the thought of them freaks me out.  I am seriously scared of them.**

2 (9)

2 (2) 

Around mile 10, I started to feel a little better so I was able to run slowly.  This is also around the time everything started to ache and hurt.  I can totally run through these kinds of things, but when my stomach aches, I don’t push myself.  I kept telling myself, pain is only temporary, quitting is forever.  This is exactly why I love running.  I am stronger than I think I am and when the pain starts to set in, I kinda enjoy it.  I sorta feel like a badass!  Haha!   

I knew I would see Mike & Lulu at mile 11 so that helped me out a lot.  I can always see the light at the end of the tunnel. :) 

Isn’t she cute!  I love my little cheerleader!

2 (7)

As I ran by them and yelled I saw a dead snake, but I am going to claim my hoodie!!!  They just laughed at me.  🙂

J Running2

I used the walk/run method until mile 12, when I just wanted to be done so I ran the rest of the way to the finish line.

I don’t feel like I can possibly describe how I felt finishing the longest distance & race I’ve ever done.  I was so proud of myself.  I kept thinking I did my best today.  Not yesterday or on my last training run…today!  I did it!  I did it!  When can I do it all over again?!

If you’d like you can see me cross the finish line hereI’m at -3:13 to – 3:28. I hold my arms up as I cross on the far left.  Then I walk over to the medic & shut my Garmin off.

I took this picture right after I crossed the finish line and I still get goose bumps seeing it.  I think the look on my face says it all!

2

Then I went to claim my hoodie & medal!!! The hoodie and medal are just symbols of the sense of accomplishment I feel. They show that I can do anything that I set my mind to.

I am stronger than I think, or at least I thought…..

DSC01356

DSC01366

Did you race this weekend?  How did you do?  Go ahead brag baby, brag!

Js Signature

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Am Not Riding On The Looser Bus

  1. Congratulations I am currently training for the Spartan Race you should check it out http://www.spartanrace.com

  2. Pingback: How do you fuel during long runs? « Skinny Chick Blog

Speak yo mind

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

