Tule Fog 10K Race Recap

This was my first time running this event.  For a small town race, it was semi-organized.  We started 20 minutes late & all races at once on a tiny trail.  In their defense, they still had a long line of people wanting to register… over 500 participants total! Along with the 10K, they had a 5K run & walk.  The volunteers were super friendly and accommodating.  They even posted the results as soon as they were available.  5 stars in book for that!

So. Cold. Send. Help!

IMG_20110122_080815

Actually I was asking myself “why do you think this is so fun”!?  Really?  No joke.

For the first two miles I wanted to quit & go home.  And I’ve never felt like that during a race.  I was freezing, my hands felt like they were going to fall off.  Totally my fault, I left my gloves in the car.  Doh!  And the trail was super crowded.  I’m claustrophobic.  So, yeah.

But after the 5K/10K split the trail thinned out an all was right in my world.

IMG_20110122_080923

We ran along the St. John’s River and it was beautiful!  I loved hearing & seeing the mini waterfalls crashing down.  It was a welcomed distraction.

The weather held true to the name of the race.  This is not a black & white photo.  I took it right before the start.

Fog run

Time & splits according to my Garmin:

1 8:15

2 8:15

3 8:20

4 8:15

5 8:20

6 8:12

.16 1:14

Time: 50:56

APPM: 8:16

Official time: 50:53

A new P.R for me!!!

IMG_20110122_091616

All of my hard training looks like it’s paying off.  I’m getting consistent & faster!  🙂

I’d like to note that the age group I’m in (30-34) seems to be the fastest of them all.  I came in 12th overall for women and 4th in my age group.  Is this normal?  I kinda can’t wait to age up.  Haha

Overall I’d do this race again but wear warmer clothes next time & hope they start in waves next time.

I decided against doing the trail race.  It’s about 1 1/2 drive on a curvy, unfamiliar road and the fog is very thick.  Not worth it to me, ya know? Good thing I didn’t pre-register.

***Edited to add I placed 4th out of 15 in my age group & 45 out of 154 overall men & women combined.  You can find the official race results here.***

Js Signature

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Tule Fog 10K Race Recap

  1. You did great! I thought the trail was super crowded too. It was tough to get in a groove from the beginning. Maybe I will see you at other local events. Are you doing the Sole to Soul running series?

  2. great job on the race! Btw, I’ve moved my blog to http://fitandfabulouslife.wordpress.com/ – so come and visit me!

  3. I’ll check it out right now!
    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Speak yo mind

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

